Performance issues

For general Protocase Designer questions. Anything and everything about Protocase Designer except support questions.

Moderators: mrodden, dronne, akirk, mpyne, Colin

Post Reply
sands329
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:19 am

Performance issues

Post by sands329 »

Hello,

I have ProtocaseDesigner version 5.3.28 installed on two different computers. On my brand new workstation, the performance is sluggish and it's getting to the point where it is almost unusable. I'll admit that my layout is becoming populated with multiple components and this is a relatively new feature that may slow things down, but when I open the exact same model on my home computer, which is 10 years old, on the same version of PD, it runs very smooth. The only significant difference I can think of is that my home computer has a newer and more powerful graphics card, but otherwise it is inferior in every way to my workstation. Am I missing a memory allocation setting or something that would be causing this or does ProtocaseDesigner really need the graphics acceleration provided by a newer GPU?

Thank you for any insights.

mpyne
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:15 am

Re: Performance issues

Post by mpyne »

Hello sands329,

If moving and rotating in the 3D editor is sluggish I would say it most likely a graphics card issue. I can't really be certain. If you can provide the specs for your machines it may help. Anyway best bet is to look into upgrading graphics card.

Matt

sands329
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:19 am

Re: Performance issues

Post by sands329 »

Hi Matt,

Thanks for your reply. I would agree. Moving and panning appear to be particularly slow. I am running a Lenovo Thinkstation P520 with a Nvidia Quaddro P2200 on my workstation, not exactly a screaming GPU. My home computer is running with an AMD Radeon RX 590, which is a significant difference. If the 3D editor relies heavily on GPU acceleration, then that may be the likely issue. Is there a minimum recommended spec for the GPU?

mpyne
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:15 am

Re: Performance issues

Post by mpyne »

So I got these from our Protocase Designer download web page. These are a minimum requirements not recommended requirements.

RAM - Minimum: 4GB RAM - Recommended: 8GB or more.
Video - Opengl 1.2+ compatible video card.
Hard Disk Space - 600MB
CPU - Intel® and AMD® processors. (P4-class cpu recommended, P3 minimum) - Recommended: 3.3 GHz or more
Operating System - Windows 7 or newer (64 bit), Mac OSX 10.6 or newer, or Linux

We have one recommended setting but for memory. We will add something for the others to, if applicable, soon. I'll see what I can do but I would say anything above Nvidia gtx1050 or gtx950 for the consumer side and for Quadros am using a P2000. I don't know to much about how to rank Quadros but mine is P2000 and it works well.

Matt

Post Reply